Kiva Fellowship

I was recently accepted for a Fellowship with Kiva!

Since Kiva was founded, over $33 million dollars have been donated by                        more than 300,000 lenders in 70                        countries. That money has funded over 50,000 entrepreneurs in 43 different countries. The default rate on repayment is 2.5%. That means that 97.5% of loans are repaid, isn’t that incredible?

Since Kiva was founded, over $33 million dollars have been donated by more than 300,000 lenders in 70 countries. That money has funded over 50,000 entrepreneurs in 43 different countries. The default rate on repayment is 2.5%. That means that 97.5% of loans are repaid, isn’t that incredible?

I am so excited to embark on this adventure, where I will be working in developing countries for nine months in an effort to help alleviate global poverty through microfinance. Kiva.org is a non-profit organization that allows you to lend capital to a specific low-income entrepreneur in the developing world.

In increments of $25, you choose who you want to lend to—whether a baker in Samoa, a goat herder in Uganda, or a tailor in Peru—and as they repay their loan, you get your money back. You can then choose to re-invest your money, or you can withdraw it. It’s a powerful and sustainable way to empower people to lift themselves out of poverty, as well as an innovative means to know that you are making a difference.


Kiva’s Fellowship program is unique in both the variety of tasks that I wil l undertake and the potential for lasting impact on the people of the city in which I’m placed. My fellowship begins in September, with a week-long training at Kiva headquarters in San Francisco, and will be truly underway when I leave for my placement on October 6, 2009.


My responsibilities as a fellow:

  • Add new micro-entrepreneurs to Kiva’s website by sharing their stories and photographing them
  • Meet entrepreneurs with existing loans to verify loan disbursement, report progress, and provide strategic suggestions
  • Train the staff of my Microfinance Institution on how to best implement Kiva’s platform to help fund the poor

Kenya

My trip will consist of 3 three-month placements, the first of which will be in Nairobi, Kenya.

Please join me in my adventure by following my blog. I will post to this blog at least once a week while I’m abroad. I want to stay in touch with you and include you in my experience.

I greatly appreciate your time and support as I begin this incredible journey.



Since Kiva was founded, over $33

million dollars have been donated by

more than 300,000 lenders in 7

countries. That money has funded over 50,000 entrepreneurs in 43 different countries. The default rate on repayment is 2.5%. That means that 97.5% of loans are repaid, isn’t that incredible?

Leave a Reply

